Sometimes you might see something that appears to be a problem – a booking is marked as cancelled in your Expedia extranet but not in Sirvoy. Is there a problem with the connection? Not necessarily.
This issue arises when a booking is modified by Expedia. When the guest wants to change something in the booking, Expedia will cancel the booking and create a new one, with a new reservation id.
Therefore, the booking will appear to be cancelled on Expedia, although it is actually not. The new booking in Expedia will have the same “confirmation number” as the original booking, which corresponds to the booking number in Sirvoy.
Follow these steps to check whether a booking was actually cancelled or just modified by Expedia:
- Search for reservations in the Expedia extranet using the guest’s last name, or using the confirmation number (Sirvoy booking ID).
- If you see two different Expedia bookings with the same confirmation number, it means that the booking was modified and not actually cancelled by the guest, and everything is fine.
Expedia has built their system this way, and Sirvoy cannot change this behaviour. If a booking shows as cancelled in Expedia but not in Sirvoy and the above does not prove to be the reason, please contact us for assistance.